The East Volcanic Zone analysed – what is the hot spot?

The East Volcanic Zone is divided into 5 parts shown here:

The polygons of the East Volcanic Zone

Each of those polygons is somehow special, and No. 1 fits the area often pointed out as the hot spot of Iceland. It is being pulled to the east and south (as the blue lines show local downwelling) against the main drift direction towards NW. No. 2 and 3 belong to rift zone, but 4 and 5 are sometimes called South Volcanic Zone, because it all belongs to the Eurasian tectonic plate and is not being torn apart. No. 4 is the area of Eyjafjallajökull and Mýrdalsjökull, and No. 5 is the polygon of Vestmannaeyjar.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s