The bent volcanic zones of Reykjanes, Snæfellsnes and Öræfajökull

There are three volcanic zones that show similarities when compared with the convection sysmtem of mantle underneath, namely Reykjanes, Snæfellsnes and Öræfajökull. They mainly cover two polygons each. The Öræfajökull and Snæfellsnes systems both start at the same latitude, one with Snæfellsjökull, the other with Snæfell. These mountains have the same system position compared with Hekla for instance. But this map is for everyone to ‘read’:

The bent volcanic zones

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s